Guide: Setting up Asus RT-AC68U Router with PrivateInternetAccess

openvpn
rt-ac68u
vpn-guide

So, I’ve been playing around with my home server, HTPC and other bits and pieces… and I decided to install a VPN again - which can be a bit of a chore, especially when you want to install it on a headless server running something like unRaid. I thought to myself: Why bother with all this? I wonder if I can do something at router level… and you know what, you can.

Some/Many of you will know about VPNs. But, some of you won’t. I thought I’d just knock up a quick guide to my setup experience… - As I’m frankly a complete noob at this - and then discuss about any issues/errors/problems/benefits that I may be having.

Many of us actually have this router, the Asus RT-AC68U. It’s been around a while, but is still a current model. It seems a majority of ASUS routers can handle internal VPN clients so check out the latest ASUS Routers here.

Once you’ve got a compatible router, the next step is to sign up to a VPN. I did a tonne of research - read reviews, tried to dissect the ones that had fake reviews or fake complaints and ended up signing up to privateinternetaccess.

4 reasons for choosing PIA.

1. They collect no information on you. You don’t even pick a username - you just get emailed a username and password randomly
  2. You can use anonymous payment methods, including bitcoin.
  3. From what I read and experimented with - they are very quick. I don’t intend to play games over my VPN - but I don’t pay for 100mb broadband for no reason. speed isn’t guaranteed though - so you do have to experiment. I can turn the VPN on and off as required.
  4. They are reasonably cheap to run PAYG (about £5 a month) - or if you are dedicated, you can pay for 2 years in advance and get it down to just a couple of quid a month.

So. Signed up with them. I’m sure you can work out how to do that.